• Skagit County Board of Health adds fifth member, Mr. Aaron Katz

    October 03, 2020
    Today, the Skagit County Board of Health appointed its fifth member, Mr. Aaron Katz. In December 2019, the Skagit County Board of Commissioners passed an ordinance to adopt Skagit County Code Chapter 12.01, expanding the size of the Board from three to five members. Mr. Aaron Katz is the fifth member of the Board of Health. In April 2020, the Board of Health appointed Dr. Connie Davis as the fourth member.

    Mr. Katz has extensive experience in the field of Public Health. He received his Master’s Degree in Public Health from the University of Toronto in 1975 and moved to Washington state in 1978. He spent 32 years as a faculty member at the University of Washington. During his time at U.W., Mr. Katz held numerous academic leadership positions including faculty coordinator of the Health Systems and Policy Concentration of the Health Services Masters of Public Health (MPH) program, founding director of the Leadership, Policy, and Management track of the Global Health MPH program and co-founded of the Oriented Public Health Practice MPH program. Further, Mr. Katz was director of the U.W. Health Policy Analysis Program from 1988 until 2003, Editor-in-Chief of the school’s journal Northwest Public Health from 1999 to 2008, and director of the Packard-Gates Population Leadership Program from 2005 to 2009.

    For his work in Public Health, Mr. Katz received the American Public Health Association’s Award for Excellence in 2006 and the Outstanding Teaching Award from the U.W. School of Public Health in 2004. Mr. Katz also received the Health Reform Leadership Award at the 2011 Washington Health Policy ‘State of Reform’ Conference.

    “We are excited to have Mr. Katz join our Board of Health,” said Skagit County Board of Commissioners Chair Ron Wesen. “As a Public Health expert, Mr. Katz brings a specific expertise that is valuable in the best of times and absolutely indispensable during the pandemic.”

    Commissioner Lisa Janicki said, “When we passed the ordinance in 2019 to add two members to the Board of Health, we knew that having public health experts on the board was important. Nine months into 2020, we are now sure that it’s vital. Mr. Katz and Dr. Davis will help us make the best decisions for Skagit residents’ health and wellbeing.”

    Commissioner Ken Dahlstedt said, “Mr. Katz’s unique experience in the Public Health field will add to the guidance already provided by Dr. Connie Davis, Public Health Director Jennifer Johnson and Health Officer Dr. Howard Leibrand. We’re lucky to have so many experts in Skagit who are ready and able to serve our Community.”

    The Skagit County Board of Health convenes at least quarterly to discuss health issues of concern to Skagit County. The next Board of Health meeting is scheduled for October 28, 2020 at 3:00p.m. Call in information will be available on the Commissioner's website. If you have questions, or need additional information about the role of the Board of Health, call the Skagit County Commissioners’ office at 360-416-1300.

    County Commissioners: Lisa Janicki, Ken Dahlstedt, Ron Wesen
    1800 Continental Place, Suite 100
    Mount Vernon, WA 98273

    (360) 416-1300  |  commissioners@co.skagit.wa.us