• Skagit Valley College celebrates 22nd annual Champions of Diversity awards ceremony

    April 22, 2022
    (Mount Vernon, Wash.) –– Skagit Valley College, Washington State University, Western Washington University, Central Washington University, and Eastern Washington University honored young multicultural leaders from Skagit, Island, and San Juan counties April 14 at the 22nd annual Champions of Diversity awards ceremony. The celebration was held at McIntyre Hall on SVC’s Mount Vernon campus. An informal gathering for SVC’s scholarship recipients, donors, and sponsors was held prior to the celebration in the hall. 

    The evening honored many amazing students, many of whom are the first in their family to attend college.  

    Scholarship recipients included: 

    Skagit Valley College: Angel Perez, Christyann Langbata, Michael Plasencia, Dianey Ramirez-Aguilar, Livy Gates, Guadalupe “Lupita” Ruiz Yosadara Ponce, Oksana Davydiuk, Junel Caidic, and Marymel Barrera  
    Washington State University: Abisaid Merino, Itzel Barajas Jimenez Israel Reyna, Anthony Herrera, Kiya McGlothin, Jeuleyca Rodolfo, Stephanie Ocampo, Carlita Cardona-Arce, and Ariely Aviles 
    Western Washington University: Esmeralda Luna-Santos, Caitlin Broadgate-Thomas, Natally Celaya-Martinez, Gali Celaya-Martinez, Edwin Cholula-Ortiz, Yeshbet Rivera Conejo, Ingrid Rivera Conejo, Crystal Fernandez, Genesis Mathis, and Selena Arellano-Gama  

    Central Washington University: Juan Reyes, Dylan Solano Cruz, Yusuke Zakimi Veliz, Archer Otero, and Betsy Villegas  

    Eastern Washington University: Jennifer Solano, Johanna Gamboa, and Jazmin Bermudez 

    In addition, 10th and 11th grade students were awarded a scholarship to North Cascades Institute’s Youth Leadership Adventures program (YLA).  

    Champion of Diversity YLA award recipients: Kristi Duncan, David Julian Rodriguez, Miguel Fernandez, Alejandro Delgadillo Uribe, Isaiah Wililams, Jairo Rosales, Symon Martin, Josue Montiel, Natalie Rivera, Maya Rodriguez, Gabriella Searle, Alexis Ayala Ramirez, Fatima Flores, Shaneez Wanjiku, Lilia Ortiz, Dulce Vieyra Duran, Maya Justus, Kati Avila Hernandez, Litzy Serrano Pacheco, Karla Silverio, David Pacheco-Castaneda, Christian Ellifritt, Johan Navarro, Anthony Sanchez Mota, Tenaya Taylor, Miriam “Alexa” Garcia Jimenez, Alan Santiago, Santiago Ochoa Acuna, Mara Rotter, Mia Peterman, Lillian Hibbert-Vester, Malakai McWilliams, Kyle Huang, Dennik Kloewer, Tessa Hughes, Avishai Salinger, Riona Sheils, Macy Oliver, Payton “Kai” “Mack” McCree, Katie Tanner, Meleny Lamas, Erin Pierce, Arlene Jimenez-Nava, Lee Hollands, Israel Lopez, Jasmine Phillips, and Judit Ceja. 

    The Champions of Diversity awards ceremony celebrates the accomplishments of young multicultural leaders in our communities and honors them with scholarships ranging from $3,000-$10,000 from Skagit Valley College and all of Washington’s public universities. 

    SVC Champions of Diversity scholarship sponsors include: Skagit Immigrant Rights Council, Skagit Publishing, North Coast Credit Union, Skagit Regional Health, SVC Board of Trustees, as well as many generous SVC employee and community donors.                      
    Skagit Valley College is making a difference throughout Skagit, Island, and San Juan counties by providing access to higher education for all who seek a better future. Part of what makes our college special is that we are deeply committed to equity in access, achievement, and community. Whether you are training for a new job, beginning your college experience, finishing the degree you started, adding English language skills, or pursuing a high school credential, Skagit Valley College welcomes you. 

    Laura Daniali, Director of Strategic Marketing and Communications
    laura.daniali@skagit.edu, 206.370.1015